TIFF Day 4 and a first for me.

First movie of the day was Albert Nobbs, introduced by the delicious Cameron Bailey. It screened at the Winter Garden. During a line-up conversation I got the tip to sit in the lower level side boxes. Pretty good. A real chair that you can move with lots of leg room. The only problem was a green exit light shining in the corner of my eye. Once the movie got going, however, I pretty much forgot about it.

The film itself was excellent. It’s based on a short story about a woman who passes as a man, working as a butler. Glenn Close is amazing in it. Also, fans of British actors will have a blast recognizing many actors.

Next up, A Dangerous Method, directed by David Cronenberg (who was there to introduce the film), and starring Michael Fassbender, Viggo Mortensen and Kiera Knightley. It’s the story of the breakup of Jung and Freud, and focuses on the rivalry of ideas as well as personalities. The whole cast is good, but Knightley is superb as Jung’s patient. She has grown so much as an actress.

Finally, the complete piece of s*** called Killer Elite. Even Clive Owen couldn’t save this. In fact, his acting sunk down to the level of the script. I walked out after 50 minutes, the first time I’ve ever done that, and I’ve seen some bad movies at TIFF. Do not go see this. Run as far away as possible.

About metermaid50

Vocation: teaching Job: ESL instructor in a private language school Family: one husband and two teenage daughters Pets: two cats, Kisa and Boo Passions: knitting, reading (mostly genre books), movies
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to TIFF Day 4 and a first for me.

  1. Wow, that bad, eh? I really miss going to TIFF – need to do it again soon. We’re getting the Cronenberg at CIFF, and I’m a member, so I definitely plan to go (whether or not Viggo does!)

  2. kurodubh says:

    But WHY was it bad?

Leave a comment