TIFF Day 6 & 7 Why am I so tired? and wild rumours

It’s been a weird couple of days. Wednesday and Thursday were supposed to be my slow movies days with lots of time to relax. Then TIFF called and said my Thursday afternoon film, Mausam, was cancelled. Something about the Indian government not releasing the film.

(On a side note, when I told this to someone in line, they proceeded to tell their friend that the Indian government had censored the film. Whoa, not what I said. So that’s how wild rumours get started. Actually, the film is being released Sept 23, delayed because the Indian Air Force wanted changes. Censorship? Seems the filmmaker had no objections.)

So on to movies. Monsieur Lazhar is a lovely, perfect Quebec film about a school in Montreal and an Algerian teacher. I don’t want to say anything more about the plot, but acting is magnificent, especially by the children.

From there I went to the TIFF box office to exchange my Mausam ticket, but the line was long and slow, so I went on to my next film, A Simple Life. I was really looking forward to this Chinese film about a man taking care of him maid/nanny as she ages. Due to technical difficulties the film was delayed by 50 minutes. I was exhausted when it wa done, and I didn’t enjoy it as much as I’d hoped. Not that it was bad; at times was sweet engaging. But ultimately it didn’t move me, and there were some scenes I just didn’t understand at all.

Thursday I headed out early to get to the box office and find another movie. I decided to get the earliest one I could, so I could just go home and relax for the rest of the day (at least until choir practice). So I ended up in The Cardboard Village. It was an interesting Italian movie about a priest who ends up helping some illegal immigrants hiding in his de-sanctified church. I would recommend it, except I didn’t understand the ending at all. I’m really not sure what happened or why some things happened.

Now it’s time to rest up and get ready for the final push of 9 movies in three days, plus a choir performance. And then back to work.

About metermaid50

Vocation: teaching Job: ESL instructor in a private language school Family: one husband and two teenage daughters Pets: two cats, Kisa and Boo Passions: knitting, reading (mostly genre books), movies
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

