TIFF Day 8

Today started with another serendipitous line encounter. Chatted with a guy for 20 minutes about all the films we had both seen when I realized I had talked with him on Wednesday before A Dangerous Method. I had actually hoped to see him again to ask if he hated Killer Elite as much as I did, and there he was (and he did)! I live the line-ups!

The movie we were waiting for was Habemus Papem, about and elected to be pope who doesn’t want the job. It was quite funny, but I wasn’t happy with the ending.

Next was the post-apocalypse movie The Day. Violent, but a little predictable. A pretty example of it’s genre, and my daughter liked it a lot.

Finally came Dark Girls, about “colourism” within the black community. It wasn’t as good as I was hoping for (expecting something like Good Hair), but it was too low budget to be the documentary I looking for. There was some interesting stuff, but it was rather preachy and lacking depth.

2 days, and 6 movies to go.

About metermaid50

Vocation: teaching Job: ESL instructor in a private language school Family: one husband and two teenage daughters Pets: two cats, Kisa and Boo Passions: knitting, reading (mostly genre books), movies
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

